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Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission Agency No. 125.00

Effective: August 1, 2005 FINAL RULE
Phil Wyrick, Executive Director

Act 87 of 1963-Code 2-33-101 and Act 150 of 1985-Code 19-6-448

Arkansas Tuberculosis Regulations

1. All sexually intact dairy cattle six months of age and older for interstate entry into

Arkansas will be required to have a negative tuberculosis (TB) test within 30 days

prior to entry.

a. These same dairy cattle will also be required to have an entry permit and a

certificate of veterinary inspection prior to entry, as well as the negative
test and must be officially identified.

Sexually intact dairy cattle under six months of age can be permitted under
a hold order direct to a premise or designated facility and held there until
they are tested negative at six months of age, at owner’s expense.

The new regulation exempts dairy cattle that originate from accredited free
TB herds (but not free states). Neutered dairy feeder cattle, and dairy
cattle delivered direct to slaughter, or delivered to a market for sale direct
to slaughter.

2. All breeding beef cattle 12 months of age and older entering Arkansas must meet

one (1) of the following requirements:

a.
b.

Originate from a tuberculosis-free state;

Originate from a tuberculosis-free herd. The herd number and current
herd test date must be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection;
Test negative within thirty (30) days of shipment;

(1) These same beef cattle will also be required to have a certificate of
veterinary inspection and will be required to have a permit if entering from
a state that has lost its tuberculosis-free status.

Originate from a state having a reciprocal agreement with Arkansas;



Page 2 of 4

e. All sexually intact cattle and bison, from any foreign country or part
thereof with no recognized tuberculosis status comparable to the Uniform
Methods and Rules standards of the U.S. Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication
Program, imported for reasons other than immediate slaughter or feeding
for slaughter must meet the following criteria:

1. Obtain a permit issued by the Arkansas Livestock and
Poultry Commission prior to entry; and

2. Be quarantined to the Arkansas premises approved in the
entry permit pending two (2) consecutive negative
tuberculosis tests. The first test to be conducted not less
than ninety (90) nor more than one hundred twenty (120)
days after arrival and the second test to be not less than two
hundred ten (210) days nor more than two hundred forty
(240) days after arrival in Arkansas; or

f. Importation of steers and spayed heifers from Mexico,

1. Steers and spayed heifers from Mexican states that have
been determined by the State Veterinarian of Arkansas,
based on the recommendations of the Bi-National
Committee, to have fully implemented the
Control/Preparatory Phase of the Mexican Tuberculosis
Eradication Program may enter Arkansas provided they
have been tested negative for tuberculosis in accordance
with the Norma Official Mexicana (NOM) within sixty (60)
days prior to entry into the United States and obtain an
entry permit prior to entering Arkansas.

2. Steers and spayed heifers from Mexican states that have
been determined by the State Veterinarian of Arkansas,
based on the recommendations of the Bi-National
Committee, to have fully implemented the Eradication

Phase of the Mexican Tuberculosis Eradication Program by
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March 1, 1997, may enter Arkansas provided they have
been tested negative for tuberculosis in accordance with the
Norma Official Mexicana (NOM) within sixty (60) days
prior to entry into the United States. Steers and spayed
heifers from herds equal to U.S. Accredited TB-Free herds
may enter Arkansas without testing provided they are
moved directly from the herd of origin across the border as
a single group and not commingled with other cattle prior
to arriving at the border and obtain an entry permit prior to
entering Arkansas.

Steers and spayed heifers from Mexican states that have
been determined by the State Veterinarian of Arkansas,
based on the recommendation of the Bi-National
Committee, to have achieved Accredited Free status may
enter Arkansas without testing provided they are moved as
a single group and not commingled with cattle of a
different status prior to arriving at the border and obtain an
entry permit prior to entering Arkansas.

Holstein and Holstein-cross steers and spayed heifers from
Mexico are prohibited from entering Arkansas regardless of
test history.

Rodeo stock from Mexico must be tested negative for
tuberculosis within sixty (60) days prior to their utilization
as rodeo or roping stock under the supervision of a
USDAJ/APHIS port veterinarian or a U.S. accredited
veterinarian, retested for tuberculosis every twelve (12)
months thereafter, and obtain an entry permit prior to
entering Arkansas. No sexually intact rodeo stock from

Mexico will be permitted into Arkansas.
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6. Rodeo stock from any state that has lost its tuberculosis
(TB) accreditation must be tested negative for tuberculosis
within sixty (60) days prior to their utilization as rodeo or
roping stock and retested for tuberculosis every twelve (12)
months thereafter.
3. The State Veterinarian may designate high incidence areas within certain states

that must meet additional import restrictions and retest requirements.
Issued in Little Rock, Arkansas on July 7, 2005.

<GLANA

Phil Wyrick, Executive Director
Arkansas Livestock & Poultry Commission




