
Page 1 of 6 
 

Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission  
Effective:  March 1, 2004       FINAL RULE 
Phil Wyrick, Executive Director 
 
Act 87 of 1963-Code 2-33-101 and Act 150 of 1985-Code 19-6-448             
 

 
SCRAPIE CONTROL REGULATION 

 
 
General Requirements: 
 
The purpose of this regulation is to control Scrapie in Arkansas and to comply with 

the federal Scrapie Eradication Uniform Methods and Rules. 

 

Regulated Animals in this regulation include 

1.  All breeding sheep 

2.  All sheep over 18 months of age 

3.  All scrapie exposed, suspect, high risk and test positive animals,   

4.  All registered breeding goats, breeding goats in contact with sheep, and 

      dairy goats actually from goat dairies  

5. All sheep or goats for exhibition 

 

Exempt Animals from this regulation include: 

1. Feeders under 18 months of age for later movement to slaughter 

2. Non-registered meat type goats, brush goats and castrated sheep and 

goats under 18 months of age. 

 

All sheep or goats as defined by this regulation that are bartered, leased, traded, 

loaned, sold, exhibited, or otherwise moved from one management to another shall 
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be deemed to have undergone a change of ownership for the purpose of this 

regulation.   

All sheep and goats as defined by this regulation that are grouped together having 

physical contact with each other, including contact through a fence with a confined 

lambing area or lambing animals, sharing the same transportation space where 

physical contact can occur shall be deemed to have commingled. 

 

Any sheep or goats as defined by this regulation that are offered for sale in an 

approved Arkansas livestock market that have not previously been identified must 

be identified with an official USDA tag prior to arrival and prior to commingling 

with any other sheep or goats and all information recorded as required for change 

of ownership or meet the entry requirements or returned to the state of origin. 

 

Any sheep or goats as defined by this regulation undergoing a change of ownership 

(including exhibition and/or importation into the state) not having an official 

identification shall be quarantined to the farm of origin until the requirements of 

this regulation are met. 

 

Animal and Premise Identification: 

All sheep and goats as defined by this regulations imported into the state of 

Arkansas within the state of Arkansas and before commingling with other sheep 

and goats shall be identified, prior to change of ownership or exhibition by an 

official USDA tag, legible official goat registry tattoo if accompanied by a 

registration certificate, or other approved device that contains a premise 

identification issued by the state of origin in combination with a unique animal 

number. 
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All sheep or goats as defined by this regulation born after January 1, 2002 shall 

also be identified to the premise of birth if not the same as the premise of origin 

prior to change of ownership or exhibition. 

 

No person shall apply an official USDA tag or premises identification number or 

brand or official registry tattoo to an animal that did not originate on the premises 

to which the number has been officially assigned.  No person may remove or 

tamper with any means of identification required to be on sheep or goats. 

 

Animals that lose their official identification may be retagged, provided that all 

possible flocks of origin are listed in the record describing the new identification 

that is applied. 

 

Required Records: 

The buyer, seller, and any dealer or market operator of sheep and goats, whether or 

not the animals are required to be identified, must maintain business records (such 

as changes of ownership, yarding receipts, sale tickets, invoices and waybills). 

These records must be maintained for a minimum of five years or provide the 

information to the Livestock and Poultry Commission for entry on the Scrapie 

National Generic Data Base.   The buyer, seller, and any dealer or market operator 

shall be equally responsible for maintaining the required record which shall be 

made available on request for regulation by agents of the Arkansas Livestock and 

Poultry Commission. 

Records required of persons who apply official identification to animals or if 

involved in the change of ownership of identified animals are to include: 

 



Page 4 of 6 
(a) Official USDA tag numbers or other identifying numbers, including the 

premise identification and any other identification carried by, or assigned to 

the animal at the time of change of ownership. 

(b) The date the animals were officially identified. 

(c) The name and address of the person who consigned the animal for change 

of ownership or from whom the animal was received.  If such animal was 

purchased at an auction, the name and address of the auction market, and 

the date of such consignment and purchase shall be included. 

(d) The name and address of the person or firm to whom the animal was sold 

and the date of such sale or consignment. 

(e)  The breed, sex, approximate age and weight of each animal. 

(f)  The date and result of any test required for change of ownership or  

      movement of each animal, or a copy of the official test record may be  

      identified to the transaction and filed with the records. 

(g) The required information relating to the change of ownership shall be  

      recorded immediately upon completion of the change of ownership (but no  

           later than 24 hours after the change of ownership). 
 

Commingling: 

Officially identified sheep or goats that have commingled with non-identified 

sheep and goats in violation of this regulation shall be quarantined to the farm of 

origin and if deemed necessary by the State Veterinarian or designated Scrapie 

epidemiologist shall submit to Scrapie testing at the expense of the one responsible 

for exhibition. 

 

Commingling (as defined by the Arkansas Scrapie Regulation) of sheep or goats of 

different flock status as defined by the Voluntary Flock Certification Program 

(VFCP)  must be reported to the VFCP state official and State Veterinarian.  
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Scrapie Management: 

Upon notification of known cases of Scrapie and all suspected cases of Scrapie the 

flock/herd shall be quarantined, investigated, all animals in the flock/herd 

individually identified, and a risk analysis made.  A diagnostic plan shall be 

developed and reviewed by the State Veterinarian or designated Scrapie 

epidemiologist utilizing approved live diagnostic tests and submission of 

appropriate samples to an approved laboratory for Scrapie testing upon the death or 

destruction of any animals in a flock/herd quarantined for Scrapie.  All 

flocks/herds shall remain under quarantine until a determination of the status of the 

flock/herd is made.  All flocks/herds under quarantine shall be examined at least 

quarterly and an inventory of all animals in the flock/herd recorded with all deaths, 

sales to slaughter, and destruction accounted for.  Upon confirmation of the 

existence of Scrapie in a flock/herd a thorough epidemiological report of all source 

flocks and herds, trace backs, trace outs, and contacts with other animals shall be 

documented and a risk analysis made.  Subsequently all source flocks or herds, 

trace backs, trace outs and contacts of all confirmed or high-risk Scrapie flock/herd 

shall be quarantined, investigated, all animals in the flock/herd individually 

identified, and a risk analysis made. 

 

All Scrapie-positive, affected, or suspect animals shall only be moved, with 

approval of State Veterinarian, for transportation to an USDA approved research 

facility or for the purpose of destruction. 

All known Scrapie-infected and source flocks/herds shall be quarantined with 

movements of animals only (1) to slaughter, (2) to feedlots under permit and 

quarantine for later movement to slaughter, (3) for destruction, or (4) to a USDA 

approved research facility. 

 



Page 6 of 6 
Infected and source flocks may be released from quarantine after completion of a 

USDA flock/herd plan or in an USDA approved pilot project flock/herd plan that 

includes the owner’s agreement to comply with a 5-year post exposure monitoring 

and management plan.   

 

The State Veterinarian or the designated Scrapie epidemiologist may release any 

suspected case of Scrapie from quarantine when other causes of the symptoms are 

confirmed and Scrapie has not been diagnosed.   

 

Any flock/herd under quarantine that has not had a confirmation of Scrapie 

diagnosis with in five years that has followed the flock/herd plan shall be released 

from quarantine.    

 

The State Veterinarian or designated Scrapie epidemiologist may release any 

flock/herd from quarantine based on epidemiological or diagnostic factors. 

 

 

Issued in Hot Springs, Arkansas on January 15, 2004. 

 

 

      Phil Wyrick, Executive Director 
      AR Livestock & Poultry Commission 
   


