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Act 87 of 1963 and Act 150 of 1985 
 

 

REGULATIONS FOR POULTRY DISEASE IDENTIFICATION,  

MONITORING & ERADICATION 

 

DEFINITIONS 

 

1. "Bird Dealer" means any person engaged in the business of dealing in, purchasing,  

 breeding or offering for sale (whether at wholesale or retail) any exotic or pet birds  

 customarily as pets. 

 

2. "Commission" means the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission. 

 

3. "Person" means any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, estate, trust, fiduciary, or 

other group or combination acting as a unit. 

 

4. "Exotic disease" means a disease defined by the secretary of agriculture. 

 

5. "Untreatable disease" means a disease that does not respond to accepted medical 

chemotherapy or one whose treatment is uneconomical. 

 

6. "Pet Bird" means a bird kept or intended for sale as a companion bird. 

 

7. "Premise" means the land and all buildings thereon. 

 

8. "Exotic Bird" means not native or indigenous to the United States. 

 



9. "Domestic Poultry" means poultry propagated and maintained under the control of a 

 person. 

 

10. "Backyard flock" means poultry that is not used commercially. 

11. "Hatchery" means hatchery equipment on one premise operated or controlled by any person 

for the production of baby poultry. 

 

12. "NPIP" means the National Poultry Improvement Plan. 

 

13. "Swap meets or flea markets" means those places either so named or a place where there is 

a gathering of people to exchange goods and/or services whether it be for barter, sale, or 

loan. 

 

14. "Fighting birds" means any poultry used for recreational sport or gaming purposes. 

 

15. "Game birds" means all birds and/or poultry used for hobby or recreational purposes or 

intended for use as food, excluding those mentioned above. 

 

16. "Inspector" means a person who is a designated and trained employee of the Arkansas 

Livestock and Poultry Commission. 

 

17. "Compliance team" means those people who are known as the compliance staff and trained 

by the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission. 

 

THE NPIP WILL BE FOLLOWED WHERE APPLICABLE IN ALL OF THE FOLLOWING 

SECTIONS: 

 

Section 1.  Pet Bird Dealer Licensing 

 

Licenses  



1. Any person desiring to operate as a bird dealer must first apply for and obtain a license.   

 License application forms may be obtained from the Arkansas Livestock and 

Poultry Commission. 

2. All licenses shall be shall be issued for a period of one (1) year beginning April 1, and 

expiring March 31 of the following year.  The annual cost of a wholesaler's license is 

$25.00.  The annual cost of a retailer's license is $10.00.  A wholesaler may also retail 

under the wholesaler's license. 

 

3. The license shall be issued in the name used for all business transactions involving 

exotic and pet birds.  Any change in the name of the licensee shall be promptly reported 

to the Commission in writing.  Only one license shall be issued to a premise. 

 

4. A separate license is required for each business location and must be displayed in a 

conspicuous location. 

 

5. Any corporation, partnership, or estate must declare at the time of license application 

and list such officers or owners on the application. 

 

6. Whenever a license is revoked the operator will be allowed to dispense of birds on hand 

only by a special permit from the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission.  The 

Commission will have the authority to enter the premise and inventory birds as long as 

birds remain on the premise. 

 

Records - Pet Birds 

1. Each bird dealer is required to keep records which adequately: 

(a) Identify each exotic or pet bird in his possession or sold by him by species, 

description, or by leg band number.  U. S. and non U. S. birds will be identified 

with leg band. 

(b) Verify the name, address, and telephone number of the person from whom each is 

acquired.  If that person is a licensed bird dealer, then the dealer's license number 

shall also be recorded.  If that person is not a licensed bird dealer, then their driver's 



license number, social security number, or federal tax identification number shall be 

recorded. 

 

(c) Verify the name, address, and telephone number of the person to whom each bird is 

transferred.  If that person is a licensed bird dealer, then the dealer's license number 

shall also be recorded.  If that person is not a licensed bird dealer, then their driver's 

license number, social security number, or federal tax identification number shall be 

recorded. 

 

(d) Identify any bird which the bird dealer knows to be or to have been sick, diseased, 

or to have died. 

 

2. Periodic reports may be required of any or all of the required record.  All required 

records shall be made available for inspection by Commission employees during 

business operating hours.  Additional records may be required if deemed necessary by 

the Commission. 

 

3. All records required to be kept by the Act or these regulations shall be kept for at least 

one year from the time of receipt or sale of exotic and pet birds. 

 

4. Failure to keep required records or to make such records available to Commission 

employees shall be grounds for quarantining and/or revocation of license. 

 

5. Birds unaccounted for by records will result in quarantine of all birds on premise until 

proper records are presented or birds are swabbed for VVND twice at 15-day intervals 

and declared negative.  Swabbing is to be done at owner's expense under the supervision 

of a state or federal employee. 

 

Quarantine, Seizure, and Destruction of Pet Birds 



1. The Commission or its designees may issue quarantine and may seize and destroy any 

birds which, in the opinion of the Commission, present a hazard of carrying exotic or 

untreatable diseases, or any disease posing hazard to the industry. 

 

2. Birds quarantined by the Commission will be maintained at the bird dealer's or the 

owner's expense. 

 

3. Any indemnity may be paid to the owner of a destroyed bird if federal or state funds are 

available for that purpose.  Indemnity may be paid under such terms and conditions 

attached to indemnity funds. 

 

4. The quarantine shall include, but is not limited to all birds on the premise. 

 

Interstate Shipment of Pet Birds 

1. Each shipment of exotic and pet birds shipped into Arkansas requires a prior permit 

number obtained from the state veterinarian's office. 

 

2. All pet or exotic birds entering Arkansas for exhibition purposes must meet the 

requirements for interstate shipment. 

 

3. All exotic bird shows and/or sales should obtain a special permit in writing from the 

state veterinarian's office. 

 

Illegal Importation of Pet Birds 

1. Any psittacine or exotic bird imported into Arkansas coming directly or indirectly from 

outside the United States shall be designated as illegal unless the bird was brought into 

the United States in conformity with the quarantine regulations of the United States 

Department of Agriculture and requirements of the state of Arkansas. 

 

2. The Commission may quarantine, seize, and destroy any birds imported illegally into 

this state and any birds exposed to an illegal bird. 



 

Enforcement Procedures of Pet Bird Violations      

1. When a license, registration, or permit is suspended or revoked by the Commission, all 

licenses, registration or permits held by that person shall be suspended or revoked to the 

same degree. 

 

2. Any violation of this regulation will be considered under Act 150 of 1985 as a Class A 

misdemeanor, which, upon conviction, may be punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.00 

and/or one (1) year in jail. 

 

SECTION 2.  Swap Meets, Flea Markets, and Exhibition of Birds 

1. Birds showing any signs of illness will be quarantined back to the farm or place of 

origin. 

 

2. All birds will be tested for pullorum-typhoid and MG and MS unless papers accompany 

them showing that they came from clean stock or have been tested within 90 days of the 

movement to the exhibition area and must be accompanied by NPIP form VS 9-3. 

 

3. Reactor birds will come under NPIP national guidelines that include: 

(a) Birds will be sent to the Arkansas State Diagnostic Laboratory in Little Rock. 

(b) Birds will be autopsied with appropriate organs and/or tissues being cultured. 

(c) At the time birds become positive, farm or place of origin becomes quarantined.  

Quarantine may be released when: 

Negative test results are provided, or 

the culture proves the birds are negative, or 

when depopulation occurs with appropriate cleaning and disinfecting before   

 restocking, as prescribed by the state veterinarian. 

 

4. Table eggs, if present, when offered for sale, must been USDA and Arkansas Egg Law 

standards before selling. 

 



5. Exhibition of birds, including fairs, swap meets, etc. will meet the above requirements. 

 

Exhibition of Arkansas Poultry: 

1. An official representing the person sponsoring the exhibition shall notify the state 

veterinarian no later than thirty (30) days prior to the exhibition, giving the names, 

place,  inclusive dates and times of the event.  The requirements for exhibition are as 

follows. 

(a) Pullorum-typhoid Status and MG & MS Status- 

All poultry except waterfowl present at exhibition in Arkansas shall have originated 

from U. S. Pullorum-Typhoid Clean or equivalent flocks or have had a negative 

pullorum-typhoid test within ninety (90) days of the movement to the exhibition.  

Poultry must also have been tested negative for MG and MS within 90 days of 

exhibition.  This information will be documented on an NPIP form VS 9-3 (form 

15) NPIP form 3B or similar certificate which will accompany the poultry during 

the exhibition. 

 

(b) Recordkeeping- 

The sponsor of the exhibition shall compile a list of all poultry present at the 

exhibition.  The list shall contain the name and address of each owner, the number, 

species, breed, variety, type, sex, and pullorum-typhoid status of all poultry present.  

A copy of this list shall be retained by the sponsor of the exhibition for at least 

twelve (12) months. 

 

Seciton 3.  Hatchery Inspections  

(Includes all commercial hatcheries, game birds, fighting birds & poultry.)   

1. Hatchery inspections are required at least one time per year, with problem hatcherie s 

being identified and retested as needed. 

2. Registration is required. 

 

3. Requires inspection of all hatcheries selling hatchery eggs that go inter or intrastate or 

anyone selling chicks and requires these hatcheries to be NPIP approved. 



 

4. Inspection will be made by a trained inspector. 

 

5. If positive for: 

(a) Pullorum-typhoid, hatchery will be quarantined immediately.  Complete cleaning 

and disinfecting will be done as prescribed by the state veterinarian along with 

industry input. 

 

(b) If positive for Salmonella other than that above, hatchery will be re-sampled at least 

30 days.  If still positive, a letter will be written from the Commission notifying the 

company. 

 

Section 4.  Requirements for Entry of Poultry Into Arkansas  

1. No poultry infected with, or exposed to any infectious or contagious disease can be 

imported into Arkansas for any purpose. 

(a) All eggs for hatching purposes and all chicks imported into Arkansas must be 

accompanied by an official health certificate or federal form 15 (VS 9-3) indicating 

that the flock from which the eggs or chicks originated have been tested for 

pullorum-typhoid and MG and MS and were free of reactors to these diseases. 

 

(b) Any eggs or chicks produced under the supervision of the NPIP will be deemed to 

have met with the requirements of this regulation; provided all of the requirements 

of NPIP are complied with and applicable NPIP forms accompany the shipment or 

are furnished in a manner set forth in the NPIP. 

 



(c) Slaughter:  Healthy poultry may be shipped into Arkansas without an official health 

certificate when shipped direct to an approved slaughtering establishment. 

 

(d) Diseased birds can be shipped into Arkansas for slaughter upon approval by the 

Arkansas state veterinarian. 
 


