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Act 87 of 1963 and Act 150 of 1985 
 

ARKANSAS REGULATIONS FOR THE ADULT (Whole-Herd) VACCINATION OF 
BRUCELLOSIS INFECTED CATTLE HERDS 

 
 

Every cattle herd in which Brucella abortus field strain infection has been confirmed, as 
determined by the designated epidemiologist(s); and, every herd that would be qualified for 
depopulation with indemnification, as determined by the Federal Veterinarian in Charge and the 
Arkansas State Veterinarian and the designated epidemiologist(s), fall under the jurisdiction of 
this regulation.  (Factors to be considered in the qualification of a herd for federally funded 
depopulation are:  the number of reactors disclosed on the first test; the persistence of reactors of 
subsequent tests; the danger of exposure to surrounding herds; other matters as considered by the 
regulatory officials, such as public health risk.) 
 
All herd owner/manager(s) have three options in the management of their infected herds: 

1. Complete herd depopulation in compliance with state regulations.  This option is 
contingent on the availability of state-federal funds for indemnification, and the 
qualification of the herd(s) (as described in the previous paragraph) to receive that 
indemnity. 

 
2. Adult (whole herd) vaccination of bovine females in their infected herd(s), with 

strict adherence to follow-up testing and quarantine releasing requirements 
consistent with state regulations and the Uniform Methods and Rules. 

 
3. S-brand and sell for slaughter or to a quarantined feedlot on a VS Form 1-27 all 

sexually intact animals within 30 days of the formulation of the herd plan.  Bull and 
heifer calves may be neutered (castrated or spayed) in lieu of S-branding and selling 
them.  (Verification of this must be made before the quarantine will be release.) 

 
Whole herd vaccination does not disqualify the herd(s) for applying for depopulation funds, if it 
should be deemed appropriate later on. 
 
This regulation is being promulgated for the benefit and promotion of the Arkansas cattle 
industry, and for the expedition of the eradication of bovine brucellosis from the state. 
 
Any violation of this regulation will be considered under Act 150 of 1985 as a Class A 
misdemeanor, which, upon conviction, may be punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.00 and/or 
one (1) year in jail. 
 
 


